Skip to content

2009 Nebula Nominations

February 19, 2010

SFWA has posted the 2009 Nebula nominations. Interesting – unlike last year’s Hugo Awards, I’ve read a lot more of these works. I haven’t read everything (not by a long shot), but I’d be quite torn if I had to decide between some of these. Luckily (?) I’m not eligible to vote. Yet.

I’d not be surprised at all to see the best novella come down between Kage Baker’s The Women of Nell Gwynne’s and John Scalzi’s The God Engines. The best novel category is one of those where you wish all of them could win, but, if forced, I’d have to give the nod to Bacigalupi’s The Windup Girl because not only is it beautiful, it also provides great insight into where we are heading. Which, I submit, is something that SF/F can do better that most other genres.

What do you think of the nominees? The James Patrick Kelly story is the only one of the short stories I’ve had the chance to read yet, though I’ve heard a lot of good things about the N. K. Jemisin story.

One Comment leave one →
  1. amy permalink
    February 19, 2010 3:07 pm

    Wow. I’ve not ready any of them. I own one, and two are on my wishlist, so at least I’m on my way to reading them. :)

    (Well, none of the novels. I did read Zoe’s Tale.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

